Our Browser Extension Privacy Policy

Last updated: November 26th, 2021

We want you to be happy using mymind.com. We're not in the business of collecting or selling data. If we request for browser permission, we only do this to make sure our extension is able to work properly.

 

How the mymind browser extension works

When clicking the “+” or “Add to my mind” actions, we capture the current URL, the page content, and current selection. We send this data over a secure connection directly to your mind and store it securely using 256-bit encryption.

Once added to your mind, we may also fetch the content (including stylesheets, scripts, audio, video, and images) linked on the page. If we detect that the saved page is a multi-page article, we may also follow and request additional pages to extract the full article content. This allows us to capture a screenshot of the page, enable our reader mode, and extract key concepts and phrases.

When enabling our specific Instagram integration, we request permissions to view and change site data and view your browsing activity. This allows us to detect when you visit Instagram and inject a small helper that allows capture the content you'd like to save to your mind. These browser permissions are unfortunately out of our control and we need to request them to make our extension work properly. But whenever we do, we make sure that you're in full control and only ask for permissions if you're trying to enable a specific feature that requires us to get access to these permissions.

We may introduce additional opt-in support for saving content from additional sites in the future, but we will always introduce them optionally and you'd have to op-t in.

Any data that you save to your mind is kept private (unless you choose to share via a temporary share link) and under your control. You can delete any content you save to your mind at anytime. When deleting an item from your mind, we also delete any referenced content. Deleted content may be recovered for 30 days after which it is permanently destroyed.

You can view our general privacy right here.